- Orange Cap Winners List

IPL Records – Orange Cap Winners List

IPL IPL 2023


IPL Records and Statistics: Which players are a part of the Orange Cap Winners List in the last 5 seasons of IPL?

For any batsman, the Orange Cap is like a testimony that he has scored an excellent number of runs during his participation in that particular season’s matches. The runs give an indication that he is an excellent player and has the capability to be the best among every batsman who was a part of the league in that season. It’s kind of a validation for the hard work of the batter and the excellent contributions made for the team. Over the years, many batsmen have received the award. Chris Gayle won it twice and kept the title for two consecutive years. He is definitely one of the best batters that the world has ever seen. 

Khelraja loves to surprise you and give you all sorts of interesting information on the IPL and the performance of the players. Let’s get you acquainted with the last 5-year Orange Cap winners of the IPL history. 

Year Winner Team Runs
2022 Jos Butler RR 863
2021 Ruturaj Gaikwad CSK 635
2020 KL Rahul KXIP 670
2019 David Warner SRH 692
2018 Kane Williamson SRH 735
  1. Kane Williamson (2018 – 735 Runs)

In 2018, Kane Williamson won the Orange Cap award for scoring 735 runs. He was playing on behalf of the Sunrisers Hyderabad. He was the first ever batter from New Zealand to get this reward. Williamson played in 17 innings on behalf of the team and helped the team reach the finals in 2018. Although the SRH team could not win the IPL cup; however, Williamson got his recognition for splendid performance. 

  1. David Warner (2019 – 692 Runs)

In 2019, David Warner got the Orange Cap for scoring 692 runs. It was not the first time that Warner had picked up this award. As phenomenal as he is with his batting, there are no bounds and surprises when the Orange Cap is given to him. In only 12 innings, he had made this score with an average of around 70 runs per match. This year, he was playing for SRH. Although he did not stay till the end of the season, he was still the highest run scorer for the tournament. It was indeed a moment of pride for the Australian cricket team as well. 

  1. KL Rahul (2020 – 670 Runs)

KL Rahul has proved himself to be one of the most promising players for his team. In 2020, he represented the Kings XI Punjab and gave them some important wins with his batting skills. As KL Rahul started giving wins and breaking records of the IPL charts, he was given more prominence since then. He has rightly made a mark for himself in the IPL seasons and thus he has got more chances to play in the T20 leagues over the years. He was also given the opportunity to lead the Indian cricket team in a few matches, as he had performed so well in the T20 matches. 

  1. Ruturaj Gaikwad (2021 – 635 Runs)

In 2021, Gaikwad won the Orange Cap award by scoring 635 runs. Gaikwad was not given much prominence earlier. But T20 is known for finding out hidden talent and giving them their due credit. The same happened with Gaikwad when he received the Orange Cap award. He played 16 innings that gave him the opportunity to make this score. CSK got the title because of his contributions as well. He was also given the award for the best emerging player. 

  1. Jos Butler (2022 – 863 Runs)

In the last IPL season of 2022, Jos Butler grabbed the Orange Cap award. It came as no surprise for the players and teams as the world class batsman has given some amazing innings and shown his skill in numerous ways on the pitch. He was the opener for RR and scored these runs at an average of 57.33 runs per game. This England cricketer has a number of other records to his name as well. He is not only popular in the T20 records but also in the ODI and Test Cricket records categories. 

Also Read: Highest Individual Score in an IPL Innings – IPL Records and Statistics (